Fitness Friday

新年快樂 !

Happy Chinese New Year everyone! May the Year of the Horse bring you much prosperity and happiness.

Saturday: It was brutally cold and windy so T and I nixed a run. Instead we did a little core work out. By little, I mean very little. He did 20 push ups while I held a plank and then we did 30 situps. We repeated that again once and then we watched a movie in our pjs.

Sunday: I forced us outside to run around noon. It was in the high twenties all day and the sun was shining (better than the cloudy single digits we had last week). We ran to the end of T’s road and back (about a mile total). The road was icy, slushy, and muddy. I brought Molly along which was a terrible idea because she was covered in muddy icicles by the time I collapsed on T’s front stoop. Man it is so hard to run in the cold. I am pretty sure I did more walking than running. I decided not to time this run because I knew it would make me depressed.

Monday: I didn’t get to the gym at lunch time, so when I got home I unburied my yoga mat and did “Armilicious” for 20 minutes. I liked the workout (and realized how much I need to work on) so I will probably do this one again sometime.

(Molly thought I should cuddle with her instead of doing yoga.)

20140129-225228.jpg

Tuesday: Ran 1.5 miles in 18:28 with walking breaks (yes I am still so slow) and rowed for 5 minutes.

Wednesday: I didn’t go to the gym at lunch again on Wednesday either. Instead I went to Home Depot to pick up some supplies for a DIY project T and I will be doing this weekend – I will be sharing details here sometime next week!

I did two more yoga videos: Level 2 Yoga/Pilates Fusion: A Core/Hip Quickie and Yoga Therapy for the Hands, Wrists and Forearms. I didn’t like the second one as much, but that might of been because I didn’t have the focus for it at the time. I do think it was really beneficial especially since I type at a computer all day.

Thursday: Ran a mile in less than 11 minutes!!!! Quite the feat for me. Then I rowed for 8 minutes, which was the longest I’ve done yet. My arms definitely started to burn toward the end but it was a good way to top off a quick lunchtime workout.

Friday: I was so close to not running today, so close. But I dragged my funk to the gym and worked it off by running my first mile in 11:15. I kept going to finish 2 miles at 24:00 (there were definitely some walking breaks in there).

Goals

Saturday/Sunday: It’s supposed to be “warm” this weekend so I’m hoping to get a ride in on both days. It’ll probably just be a small trail ride, but that’s better than nothing. The horses sure could use the work. Maybe T and I will take a quick run to the river and back (about a mile with hills) – we shall see how muddy it is.

Monday: 1.5 miles, 5 minutes rowing

Tuesday: Yoga night! Maybe a quick mile during lunch?

Wednesday: 15-minute core class or 25 minutes of biking

Thursday: 1.5 miles, 5 minutes rowing

Friday: 2 miles!!

I’m trying to build my way back to (and beyond) where I was in November when I ran a 5K, but the treadmill is just so boring… But whenever I feel annoyed with it, I remind myself that I am very lucky to even have access to a gym during this cold weather.

Does anyone have any free online yoga routines they recommend?

Leave a Reply

