The notebook

Get it down. Take chances. It may be bad, but it’s the only way you can do anything really good.
– William Faulkner

While driving home from seeing Saving Mr. Banks (highly recommended if you haven’t seen it), T questioned me about my fear to write my ideas down. I told him that as soon as they were formed into words on a page, they would never live up to my expectations. Yet he persisted, saying I needed to put them on paper.

He’s been encouraging me for months to write, so finally I unburied a notebook I received on my last day as a writing tutor in college. I cracked it open, flipping through the blank pages full of lines waiting to be filled. I turned to the first page, stared, and then thumbed to the third page. For some reason, I just couldn’t tarnish the first two blank pages with my scrawl.

I started writing. Since then ideas have been flooding my head and I’ve already filled a couple of pages of free thought. Who knows what will come of this. For now, I am going to write without reservation or judgment.

Image

One thought on “The notebook

Leave a Reply

