Christmas Time!

I’ve been so busy with work, Christmas shopping, and studying that I haven’t had any time to post! On the weekends, the last thing I want to do is look at a computer screen. Sorry for my long absence. I will try to be better! Maybe keeping up with my blog will be one of my New Year’s Resolutions…

I took my statistics final last week and now I can officially get in the Christmas spirit! I love the cozy, warm, lovely feelings that come with the month of December. Buying presents for my family and friends is one of my favorite “hobbies.” It’s fun to think of something creative and imagine their face when they open it.

Two weekends ago, T and I went to Simmons’ Christmas Trees in Still Pond to cut down a tree for his house. Interestingly enough, Still Pond was the first town in Maryland to allow women to vote. When Still Pond became a town in 1908, the charter allowed women to vote in local elections. Anyway, the farm was very cute – all decked out with Christmas charm. They served free hot apple cider and hot chocolate. We cut down a white pine from the field and hauled it in. This was my first time ever cutting down a tree at a farm other than my own. I was fascinated by the shaker and the way they bound the tree. We spent the rest of the day decorating his house and attending a Christmas party.

IMG_3574

IMG_3578Last week my family put up our own tree. We used to grow and sell Christmas trees to neighbors (our operation was no where near as fancy as the one at Simmons’). Now we are down to slim pickings, but we still refuse to buy a tree or, god forbid, put up an artificial one! So this year we have a Charlie Brown tree. We were all a bit skeptical but it actually looks very nice now that it is decked out in lights and ornaments.

IMG_3774

IMG_3793

This past weekend, Christmas continued. T and I did some shopping at a local craft fair and antique shop. The craft fair was in our neighbor’s old farm house. I almost always walk away with something when I go to a craft fair – this year it was a green collar with purple horses on it for Molly. I just couldn’t resist since our stable colors are green and purple, and I usually can’t resist anything to do with horses or dogs.While we were at the antique shop, I bought a really neat mini cabinet (not sure how else to describe it). I’ve been slowly collecting things I want for when I move out. The problem is that I have no where to put them now!

It started snowing around noon so T and I got home and built a snowman in our front field to greet everyone who drove in the driveway. Then we went sledding, which Molly thought was great fun as long as she could chase the sled and not be on it. The horses loved the snow too – they were extra frisky.

IMG_3748

IMG_3722

IMG_3707

IMG_3824

IMG_3836

Have I  mentioned I love Christmas time? I love spending time with my family and friends. Everyone is so joyful and excited.

My family has a rather unique tradition of writing poems to accompany any gift you give. My sister and I grew up receiving poems on birthdays and Christmas. Now that we are both over 18, we have started writing our own poems. As much as I complain about it, I actually really love it. My poems are known for their randomness and humor. I tend to write whatever comes to my head without questioning it.

Do you have a unique Christmas tradition? Does your family write poems to accompany gifts?

Leave a Reply

