November reflections

November has passed in a whirlwind. It feels like yesterday when I ran my 5K and wrote my last post. Next thing I knew, Thanksgiving arrived. I’ve been so busy working and traveling that I did not have time to even draft a post. While I know I don’t have many (or any) readers, writing on this blog is a personal goal for me; a space for me to look back on in years to come and reflect on memories, change, and growth.

The weekend after the race, T and I took a long weekend and drove down to Charleston, South Carolina to visit some of his family. I had only met them briefly twice before, yet they welcomed me into their home with open arms. We had a whirlwind weekend of touring downtown, visiting a plantation, riding horses on said plantation, and canoeing in Cypress Gardens (the place where they filmed the famous scene from the Notebook!!). We had such a great time and everyone was so nice and hospitable. I can’t wait to go back again because there is just so much to do down there!

IMG_2944

IMG_3036

IMG_3154

IMG_3238

After a crazed week at work, I boarded a plane for my third international flight this year. Destination? Brasilia, Brazil. I work for a large international education study and part of my job is to help my team organize conferences for representatives from over 70 different countries participating in the study. When you think Brazil, I’m sure you think sun, parrots, music, and beach. Well we had sun (lots of it), but Brasilia is a planned city near the middle of the country, so no beaches. There was lots of music though! The airplane-shaped capital was constructed in the fifties and features architecture designed by Oscar Niemeyer. In between the crazyness of organizing the meeting, I did have some time to go exploring. It was unlike any other city I’ve ever been to. All and all, despite being very busy, I had fun and got to experience some of the Brazilian culture.

IMG_3276

IMG_3303

IMG_3318

IMG_3413

IMG_3438

IMG_3422

IMG_3441

After such a crazy couple of weeks, it was so nice to come home last weekend and relax. Saturday, T and I spent some time exploring in the woods with the dogs. We had dinner with my family and played cards into the night. The next day he left early to go celebrate his mom’s birthday, so I spent the day knitting in front of the TV. I usually never allow myself to spent an entire day doing nothing. But I have to admit it was very nice to do nothing. And I made good progress on the sweater I am knitting!

IMG_3451

IMG_3461

Today it is Thanksgiving. I am so thankful for so many things that words cannot adequately express my thanks. After hitting the “publish” button on this post, I am going to drag my sister outside for a walk with my dog. Then the rest of the day will consist of eating, laughing and spending time with my family. I wish T and I could be celebrating this special day together, but I know we will spend many holidays together in the future.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving! 

IMG_0248

One thought on “November reflections

Leave a Reply

