Race Weekend

Well it’s finally here. The weekend of my first race. I was feeling extremely positive about two weeks ago. Now I’m feeling very pessimistic. I got sick last week, which completely threw me off my training schedule and killed my endurance. This week I did some outdoor runs around the “block” (about 1.5 miles of sidewalk running with hills). Yesterday my knee was bothering me (and honestly I was also feeling sore and lazy) so I biked 3 miles and ran half a mile.

Today I was determined to go run at least 2 miles on the treadmill. I got a filling, but not so healthy, lunch of grilled cheese and french fries and told myself that I would digest and run around 2 pm. 2 pm rolls around and I am frantically trying to finish my work tasks of the day. Things kept going wrong, the details went haywire. Needless to say, it’s about 4:50 and I still haven’t had a chance to go to the gym. So why am I writing this blogpost you ask? Well I am stuck at my computer waiting for the green light to send a very important dispatch that must go out today.

So you can see why I am discouraged. I was doing great and sticking to my training schedule. Then last week it all fell apart and I could not get myself back on track in time.

The race is on Sunday morning. If I get home in time tonight, I’ll try and run a short distance on our farm before driving over to the Eastern Shore. Tomorrow T and I will probably do an easy run to keep my muscles from going into hibernation.

It’s supposed to be cold on Sunday morning. I don’t run very well in the cold – my muscles are slow to warm up and the cold air burns my throat as I breathe in and out much too quickly. I hope the adrenaline carries me through.

My goal is to finish on two feet. I don’t think I’ll be able to run the whole thing, but I have to start somewhere. If I can finish this race with minimal walking, then my next goal will be to run the full thing.

One day to go…

3 thoughts on “Race Weekend

Leave a Reply

