First mile ever!

Yesterday was a dismal one at the gym. I felt very tired and unmotivated. It did not help when I found myself scuffing my shoes on the treadmill as I tried to complete just a small fraction of a mile. I came back to my office that afternoon feeling discouraged and a little bit hopeless.

As you know (if you’ve read my other posts), I decided to run a 5k in November for the first time ever. I am not a runner in any shape or form. The only time I ran was perched on the back of a galloping horse. I started “training” for this 5k at the beginning August. I could not even run a quarter of a mile without feeling like I would die.

Since then I have been taking 15-minute core conditioning classes three times a week and running as much as I can about five times a week. Before I left on vacation, I could run about half a mile without dying and, on some days, I could even do three quarters of a mile. Yesterday, I started to question why I was even trying to do this. I am not a runner. Who am I kidding?

But, today I ran a mile.

I ran a mile for the first time in my life!

*Jumps for joy*

I am so ecstatic. I warmed up by walking for a little bit and then I started running at a slow, but steady pace. I forgot my headphones so I did not even have music to listen to. Instead I watched the rain fall steadily as an afternoon storm rolled through. I told myself I would run half a mile and then quit. 0.50 miles and I felt good – one more quarter. Then I reached 0.75 miles and thought “I can do this.” I powered through the pain, the breathlessness, the cramps, and I did it!

I felt so good afterward. It was hard not to skip down the long halls of my office building as I headed back to my office. Now I am starting to maybe see a tiny glimpse of why people love to run. While I still have a long way to go before I can run a 5k, I am feeling hopeful for the first time.

Now I just have to do it again and again and again. We shall see what tomorrow brings.

6 thoughts on “First mile ever!

  1. Congrats! You can do it!! It took me several weeks (i’m a slightly overweight non-runner), but I went from barely being able to run 60 seconds, to doing 8 minute intervals – thanks to the C25K program! Keep at it- it will get easier!! 🙂

    • Thanks!! That’s really encouraging to hear. Most people I know either don’t run at all or can run 3+ miles no problem. It’s nice to connect with people who are in the same boat as I 🙂

Leave a Reply

